Lincoln County Bird Club
        Ruidoso, NM

Lincoln County New Mexico

Historic and beautiful, is blessed with a wide range of habitats and over 200 species of birds. Lincoln County contains two wilderness areas. Elevations run from 5,400 feet (1696 meters) to 11,400 feet (3474 meters) and habitats vary from semi-desert through conifer forests to high-elevation grasses and forbs.

Lincoln National Forest

Lincoln National Forest contains 3 ranger districts (Guadalupe, Smokey Bear, and Sacramento), 3 major mountain ranges (Guadalupe, Sacramento, and Capitan), and covers 1,103,331 acres in parts of 4 counties in southeastern New Mexico. The Following information describes Smokey Bear Ranger District of the Lincoln National Forest.

Smokey Bear Ranger District

Headquartered in Ruidoso, New Mexico, Smokey Bear Ranger Distrct lies entirely within Lincoln County and contains 2 wilderness areas; the White Mountain Wilderness Area and the Capitan Mountain Wilderness Area, totaling 86,000 acres. The vegetation ranges from semi-desert plants, pinon pine, ponderosa pine, juniper, mixed conifer to spruce, fir, and high-elevation grasses and forbs. This range contains one of the few mountain ranges in the country that runs east to west.